Nashville Dreamer get her deportation stopped


Dear Friends,

I’m writing you because I want to thank all of you for your support over the past six months.  As you may know, I’ve lived in Tennessee since I was 11 years old.  But last May I was arrested while driving home from church and I’ve been fighting deportation ever since.  I have some very exciting news to share today: because of our hard work together, my deportation has been officially cancelled! 

This Thanksgiving I am grateful for you all! Thanks so much to each one of you for saving my dreams: to graduate high school and stay with my family. Together with the Tennessee Immigrant and Refugee Rights Coalition, J.U.M.P., Justice for Our Neighbors of Tennessee and United We Dream we made this happen. 

I will never have enough words to express my gratitude for everything that was done for me.  My life has changed completely. I learned so many things during this rough time: I learned that there are good people like you who care about others and I learned that when you feel most alone there are people who will give you a hand, even when you least expect it.

Unfortunately, families are still being separated.  I know that injustice like this continues.  Please continue to support us as we make sure that other Tennessee students have the opportunity to stay with their families and as we demand that President Obama stop these deportations.  Let’s keep fighting together!

 God bless you,

Mercedes Gonzalez

Leave a Reply

